img img

HKBU presents international award to renowned Chinese medicine experts

  • Time of issue:2020-12-17
  • Views:

(Summary description)

HKBU presents international award to renowned Chinese medicine experts

(Summary description)

  • Categories:home-news-down
  • Author:
  • Origin:
  • Time of issue:2020-12-17 23:25
  • Views:

The School of Chinese Medicine (SCM) presented on 30 March the “Fifth Cheung On Tak International Award for Outstanding Contribution to Chinese Medicine” to Professor Wang Yitao and Professor Yan Shiyun in recognition of their achievements in scientific research on Chinese medicine and contributions to the modernisation and internationalisation of traditional Chinese medicine (TCM).

Professor Wang is currently Director of the State Key Laboratory of Quality Research in Chinese Medicines at the University of Macau and Director of the Macau Centre for R&D in Chinese Medicine. Having devoted his career to pharmaceutical education and systemic research into the quality of Chinese medicines, Professor Wang has a number of significant “firsts” under his belt. Not only did he found the first national key discipline in Chinese medicine, but he also developed the first Chinese medicine talent programme and the first State Key Laboratory of TCM in China. In addition, he was the Chief Scientist of the first National Basic Research Program (973 Program) in TCM.  


Professor Yan, Tenured Professor and Former President of the Shanghai University of Traditional Chinese Medicine, is held in high esteem in the field for his dedicated efforts to enrich the literature of Chinese medicine. In addition to contributing to the cause of education in the many important positions he has held at national and provincial levels, he led the compilation of the first Chinese medical classic The Comprehensive Collection of Ancient Chinese Medical Literature and served as the Chief Technical Councillor for the compilation of the WHO international standards for TCM terminology.


The award presentation ceremony was officiated by Mr Gavin Cheung, Director of the Cheung On Tak Charity Foundation; Professor Alexander Wai, President and Vice-Chancellor of HKBU; Professor Chen Kaixian, Academician of the Chinese Academy of Sciences and Chairperson of the Panel of Adjudicators for the Award; and Professor Lyu Aiping, Dean of SCM. 


The virtual event, which featured the award winners, attracted close to 400 participants, including Chinese medicine professionals, staff and students of SCM. Professor Yan spoke on the topic “Pursuit of Harmony – TCM Theory under the Perspective of Traditional Philosophy”, and Professor Wang discussed “Systemic Investigation of Quality Research in Chinese Medicine”.


Centre for Chinese Herbal Medicine Drug Development Limited

Units 201-207, Building 15W, Hong Kong Science Park, Pak Shek Kok, New Territories, Hong Kong


©2021 Centre for Chinese Herbal Medicine Drug Development Limited